The Woes of Job Hunting

Need a job? Too bad. There aren’t any left. Trust me, I’ve looked.

No, really, the job market isn’t quite that bad. Unfortunately, for a fresh college graduate in a popular field (Graphic/Website Design) its getting REALLY tight when it comes to looking for jobs. I actually signed up with a job agency called the BOSS Group and they have these nifty things call Creative Connects.

Creative Connects

Creative Connects

Apparently they gather at the happy hours in Philadelphia. I’m not sure if they do this in other cities (though I’m sure they probably do), and this event was at the Alfa Bar, which is a really nifty place. The room they had it in, however, was tiny. VERY tiny…

Not surprisingly, more people are looking for jobs than employees, so it was an hour or so of, “Hi, my name is [insert name here]. I used to work for [insert company here]. Where did you used to work?” I did get a recomendation for a company. Unfortunately Digitas has a minimum education requirement of a Master’s Degree. Though, one woman gave me an idea I hadn’t thought of. Or rather, she reminded me about a website I hadn’t tried looking on. CareerBuilder had so many more graphics jobs posted than I had seen anywhere else. I applied for three within one hour.

And to all the emplyers trolling the blogs. I have a profile on Monster, and I’ve even tried picking through Craig’s List. I don’t have a profile on CareerBuilder, but drop me a comment and I’ll make one. Seriously.


In Nerd News… I am gearing up in the final few days before my Otakon adventure!

Otakon 2009!

Otakon 2009!

Is it really nerdy to say that I’m tingley just thinking about seeing voice acter Crispin Freeman? Well, too bad! I’m dying to see if he had a panel, and if he does, I’m stalking it (just fyi).

I’m going down with Karen, Fools, and Greg, but I have a bunch of friends that’ll be there. J-Chan and Jeff will be there (since we got them the registration/hotel as their Wedding present ^^), and I’m pretty sure my friend Matt is working for them again, so he’ll be there. And yes, we ARE cosplaying. And we aren’t going for some uber fan popular anime to pick characters to dress up from. We made up our own storyline and characters, and it’s all steam punk, baby. Our little steam punk world has its own blog, so head on over to check it out: The Ananhet

This weekend I’m getting together with the girls (and probably Greg, too, if he isn’t busy working his ass off) and finalizing our steam punk gear. Tomorrow, I’m going out with my man. That is, if Phil and I ever figure out where the hell we want to go…

Leave a comment